ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

JP McManus the 2020 Willie Stephenson Memorial Trophy Winner

The Willie Stephenson Memorial Trophy commemorates the co-founder of DBS (now Goffs UK) and is awarded annually to the person or persons whom the Goffs UK Board feel have made the biggest contribution to the success of the company during that year. The unanimous choice for 2020 is JP McManus.

A long-time supporter of DBS and now Goffs UK, JP McManus has been, and continues to have, a significant presence at the Doncaster sales, as well as our boutique off-site sales that have launched in recent years. His iconic green and yellow silks have been carried to victory by a vast number of graduates of the Doncaster ring and most recently include the hugely exciting Jonbon who was purchased at our December P2P Sale at Yorton in 2020.

The annual trophy commemorates DBS’ founder and first Chairman, Willie Stephenson, and was instigated by his successor, Harry Beeby, who in turn was succeeded by Goffs UK’s current Chairman, Goffs Group Chief Executive Henry Beeby.

With the kind agreement of Aintree Racecourse, the trophy was presented to JP McManus after the Grade 2 Goffs UK Nickel Coin Bumper at Aintree yesterday and Henry Beeby commented on the award:

“JP has been a great friend to DBS/Goffs UK over the years and we are delighted to honour that support with this award. We have waited over a year to present it due to the pandemic and it’s great to be able to do so in the very place he has enjoyed so much success over the years – Aintree’s iconic winners’ enclosure. His support of racing has been nothing short of phenomenal, he has enjoyed high-class winners in essentially every major NH race and hopefully that continues for a long time to come.”